Tuesday, May 30, 2006
The Da Vinci Code Movie
The book was also, unmistakably, a screenplay. That is how it is written, in scenes with very little subtext or internal dialogue. All you had to do was put some actors in front of the camera and then follow the book. Having said that, how the hell could it be screwed up so badly?
My wife is one of the three people in the world who has not read the book. She couldn't follow the movie at all. I even had problems and I was recently familiar with it! I knew which parts of the movie corresponded with which parts of the book put was amazed at how much connective material was left out.
Given the way Dan Brown wrote the book, there is really no excuse for this. I mean, it wasn't like they were trying to write a screen play for Lord of the Rings or anything. If Peter Jackson could film an actual "story" out of Lord of the Rings, why couldn't Ron Howard do it with a gift of a novel like The Da Vinci Code?
Thanks for the review, as I also read the book after it was given to me from a female friend in Physics in high school (we are the only 2 girls in the class). She actually believed everything it said in the book (she loves conspirary that I bet if I start to make up some random crap that may sound true, she will believe in it) and had to nag me for 2 months before I read it to shut her up so I actually learn Physics!, sad life story.
The End.
I got a DVD-rip, of a copy I own of course, if you would like to borrow it for sampling purposes of course... of course. :D
<< Home

