Tuesday, May 30, 2006

 

The Da Vinci Code Movie

My wife and I saw The Da Vinci Code movie on the weekend ... and what a load of crap it was. I have read the book (after much reluctance) and actually enjoyed it! While it wasn't the best book I have ever read, or even the best thriller I had ever read, it was a good read. Very nice escapism written in nice little chapters so that the book could be read in pieces and put down comfortably between sessions.

The book was also, unmistakably, a screenplay. That is how it is written, in scenes with very little subtext or internal dialogue. All you had to do was put some actors in front of the camera and then follow the book. Having said that, how the hell could it be screwed up so badly?

My wife is one of the three people in the world who has not read the book. She couldn't follow the movie at all. I even had problems and I was recently familiar with it! I knew which parts of the movie corresponded with which parts of the book put was amazed at how much connective material was left out.

Given the way Dan Brown wrote the book, there is really no excuse for this. I mean, it wasn't like they were trying to write a screen play for Lord of the Rings or anything. If Peter Jackson could film an actual "story" out of Lord of the Rings, why couldn't Ron Howard do it with a gift of a novel like The Da Vinci Code?

 

First Post

Welcome to my blog. I have no idea who I am welcoming since I am sure no one will actually read any of this.

I don't know what I will use this for, but I do hope that it will inspire me to do some writing and possibly allow me to get some stuff out of my head (and make room in there for some new stuff).

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?